Monday, 1/6/2020 | 3:32 UTC+0
Libyan Newswire

Answer – Ban on entry to the US for citizens of 7 countries in the context of EU security – E-000624/2017

President Trump signed a new Executive Order on Protecting the Nation from Foreign Terrorist Entry into the United States on 6 March 2017, which replaces the order issued on 27 January 2017.

For 90 days, as of 16 March 2017, foreign nationals from Sudan, Syria, Iran, Libya, Somalia, and Yemen (no longer Iraq ) who are outside the United States on the effective date of the order, and do not currently have a valid visa are not eligible to travel to the United States.

The new Executive Order addresses most of the issues raised with the previous order as regards the EU citizens. In particular, it makes clear that the travel ban does not apply to EU citizens with dual nationality from one of the affected countries, if travelling with an EU passport.

It is also important to stress that some parts of the new Executive Order of 6 March 2017, in particular as far as its entry ban component is concerned, are currently suspended, pending judicial review. The Commission will continue to closely monitor the developments, including in terms of the possible impact of the Executive Order on the EU.