Friday, 7/8/2020 | 1:06 UTC+0
Libyan Newswire

Written question – Executive order signed by Donald Trump banning nationals of seven majority-Muslim countries from entering the USA – E-000663/2017

On 27 January 2017, US President Donald J. Trump signed an executive order blocking entry to the USA for all nationals, including refugees, of seven majority-Muslim countries including Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia and Syria. As a result, airlines, including European companies, had to stop numbers of people affected by the ban from boarding their planes. This has unleashed a shockwave of reaction from Europe because the European Union rejects all forms of discrimination on grounds of nationality, ethnic origin or religion, not only in relation to asylum but across the spectrum of its policies. The US executive’s sovereign decision is thus at odds with the values of openness and respect for difference which the European Union upholds.

What effect will the US ‘anti-immigration’ order of 27 January 2017 have on nationals of EU Member States, and what steps will be taken to ensure that all European citizens enjoy their rights to the full and are not discriminated against while this order by Washington remains in force?