Tuesday, 11/8/2020 | 9:38 UTC+0
Libyan Newswire

Written question – Ban on entry to the US for citizens of 7 countries in the context of EU security – E-000624/2017

On 27 January 2017, US President Donald Trump signed an executive order temporarily banning citizens from seven countries from entering the US. The countries concerned were Iran, Iraq, Yemen, Syria, Somalia, Libya and Sudan.

1. Is the European External Action Service expecting the US President’s decision to have any particular repercussions for EU citizens?

2. Given that the decision could, for example, increase the volume of illegal immigration into the EU, is the European External Action Service prepared to face that new security threat? If so, how exactly?